Managing recordings

Additional basic resources and functionality in Panopto

Managing your recordings

Deleting a recording

Recordings are created locally on the machine you are presenting from. Once the recording has been completed it begins to upload to  Panopto's servers. 

Step 1. If you need to delete a recording that has already been uploaded  you can do this by clicking on the name of the recording  in the lecture capture block on the relevant module page, or going directly to https://solent.cloud.panopto.eu .

Lecture capture block - course settings

Step 2. Assuming that you have clicked the link to the video in the Panopto block, click the name of the module folder found towards the top of the browser.

panopto setting dialgue box


Step 3. you will now see a list of all the recordings in that module folder.  Hover your mouse over the recording you wish to delete, a list of options will appear, the last being delete.

managing recordings


Be careful not to delete entries you may subsequently need!



Now you are able to:

  • move a recording to a different folder (see Moving a recording). 
  • delete the recordings that are stored on locally on the hard drive. 
Deleting the recording is irreversible. Make sure it has already been uploaded to the remote service if needed before you delete the local copy. ICT have also created an automatic process that deletes local copies of recordings after one month.

Delete local recording